The Fed unveils 2023 Awards finalists shortlist

Tickets for the ceremony are available to members at a discounted price of £50

The Fed Awards Covid

The Fed is gearing up to recognise the achievements of retailers as its awards return for the first time since the Covid-19 pandemic

Unveiling the shortlist, national president and chair of the judges Jason Birks said: “Once again, picking our finalists and the overall winners proved to be extremely difficult, as all the nominees were of an extremely high standard.” 

During the event, to take place on 24 January, retailers will discover who has won across 11 categories. 

Battling it out in Best Use of Technology are Surjeet Notay, Priyesh Ramji Vekaria and Dee Sedani. 

In the Collectables of the Year category is Mark Dudden, Andrew Howell, and Stephen, Sandra and Abbie Mitchell. 

Community Champion will be picked from Trudy Davies, Asiyah and Jawad Javed, and Bobby Singh. 

Vying for the top spot in Independent Convenience Retailer of the Year is Ijaz Ahmed, Lewis Costley and Mohammed Shakir Shakoor. 

In the Symbol category is Mandeep Khaira, Mohammad Aslam, and Amrit Singh Pahal. Meanwhile, Customer Service Retailer of the Year will be picked from Bay Bashir, Julie Kaur Duhra and Peter Steemers. 

Food to Go Retailer of the Year is between Asiyah and Jawad Javed, Paul Matthews and Sachin Patel. 

News Deliverer of the Year will go to either Julie Brown, Ella Gregory and Hamid Awan. Hazel Bell, Julie Brown and David Robertson will compete for Newsagent of the Year. 

Responsible Retailer of the Year will go to either Bay Bashir, Dee Sedani or Priyesh Ramji Vekaria. Finally, Sustainable Retailer of the Year is between Trudy Davies, Sunder Sandher and John Vine. 

Three further categories will honour Supplier, Product and Member of the Year. Booker, Grenade and Topps will compete in the supplier category. 

Meanwhile, the award for best product will be between Boost – Juic’d, Camelot’s Orange Scratchcard and Imperial Players JPS East Rolling tobacco. An overall Member of the Year will also be announced. 

Alongside fellow Fed members, attending the event will be sponsors, suppliers and representatives from the news trade. 

Jason Birks added: “Thank to our sponsors, who had the difficult job of whittling down the entries, and for their generous support. Without it, these awards could not take place.” 

The awards ceremony will be hosted by BBC presenter Naga Munchetty, who is back by demand after hosting the ceremony in 2020. 

The event will take place at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in central London. 

Tickets for the ceremony are still available to members at a discounted price of £50. 

To book a place, email kirsten.boucher@nfrn.org.uk

Read more news on The Fed


This article doesn't have any comments yet, be the first!

Become a member to have your say