In the tobacco plain packaging vote 367 were in favour of the legislation compared to 113 noes.

betterRetailing have analysed the results and can reveal that there was a Conservative party rebellion of 104 votes against. Three Labour, two Liberal Democrats, two Democratic Unionists and two UKIP MPs also stood against the vote.

Cabinet ministers of those against the legislation, the only two were secretary of state for justice Chris Grayling and Elizabeth Truss, secretary of state for environment.

Notable absences from the vote included the secretary of state for health, Jeremy Hunt and the deputy prime minister, Nick Clegg. Six other cabinet ministers were also absent: Theresa May, Philip Hammond, Eric Pickles, Alistair Carmichael, Stephen Crabb and Sajid Javid.

Both David Cameron and Ed Miliband voted in favour of the legislation.

The tobacco industry responded with disappointment, both Imperial Tobacco and British American Tobacco have announced they are placing legal action against the Government. 

The new regulations will mean the manufacturing of branded packs must stop on May 20, 2016, followed by a full introduction of plain packs in all retail outlets by May 21, 2017.

Find out if your MP voted against the legislation in the table below.

Adams, NigelConservativeSelby and Ainsty
Amess, Sir DavidConservativeSouthend West
Baker, SteveConservativeWycombe
Baldwin, HarriettConservativeWest Worcestershire
Bebb, GutoConservativeAberconwy
Bellingham, Mr HenryConservativeNorth West Norfolk
Bingham, AndrewConservativeHigh Peak
Bone, Mr PeterConservativeWellingborough
Bradley, KarenConservativeStaffordshire Moorlands
Brady, Mr GrahamConservativeAltrincham and Sale West
Bray, AngieConservativeEaling Central and Acton
Bridgen, AndrewConservativeNorth West Leicestershire
Burley, Mr AidanConservativeCannock Chase
Burns, ConorConservativeBournemouth West
Chope, Mr ChristopherConservativeChristchurch
Clarke, rh Mr KennethConservativeRushcliffe
Clifton-Brown, GeoffreyConservativeCotswolds
Coffey, Dr ThérèseConservativeSuffolk Coastal
Collins, DamianConservativeFolkestone and Hythe
Davies, David T. C.ConservativeMonmouth
Davies, GlynConservativeMontgomeryshire
de Bois, NickConservativeEnfield North
Dinenage, CarolineConservativeGosport
Djanogly, Mr JonathanConservativeHuntingdon
Doyle-Price, JackieConservativeThurrock
Drax, RichardConservativeSouth Dorset
Duddridge, JamesConservativeRochford and Southend East
Duncan, rh Sir AlanConservativeRutland and Melton
Elphicke, CharlieConservativeDover
Evans, JonathanConservativeCardiff North
Evans, Mr NigelConservativeRibble Valley
Fabricant, MichaelConservativeLichfield
Field, MarkConservativeCities of London and Westminster
Fox, rh Dr LiamConservativeNorth Somerset
Francois, rh Mr MarkConservativeRayleigh and Wickford
Fuller, RichardConservativeBedford
Garnier, Sir EdwardConservativeHarborough
Garnier, MarkConservativeWyre Forest
Gray, Mr JamesConservativeNorth Wiltshire
Grayling, rh ChrisConservativeEpsom and Ewell
Green, rh DamianConservativeAshford
Gummer, BenConservativeIpswich
Halfon, RobertConservativeHarlow
Hands, rh GregConservativeChelsea and Fulham
Harper, Mr MarkConservativeForest of Dean
Harrington, RichardConservativeWatford
Hart, SimonConservativeCarmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire
Hayes, rh Mr JohnConservativeSouth Holland and The Deepings
Heaton-Harris, ChrisConservativeDaventry
Henderson, GordonConservativeSittingbourne and Sheppey
Hendry, CharlesConservativeWealden
Herbert, rh NickConservativeArundel and South Downs
Hollingbery, GeorgeConservativeMeon Valley
Hollobone, Mr PhilipConservativeKettering
Howarth, Sir GeraldConservativeAldershot
Jenkin, Mr BernardConservativeHarwich and North Essex
Johnson, GarethConservativeHarwich and North Essex
Kawczynski, DanielConservativeShrewsbury and Atcham
Kirby, SimonConservativeBrighton, Kemptown
Knight, rh Sir GregConservativeEast Yorkshire
Kwarteng, KwasiConservativeEast Yorkshire
Leigh, Sir EdwardConservativeGainsborough
Lewis, Dr JulianConservativeNew Forest East
Liddell-Grainger, Mr IanConservativeBridgwater and West Somerset
Macleod, MaryConservativeBrentford and Isleworth
Main, Mrs AnneConservativeSt Albans
McCartney, KarlConservativeLincoln
McIntosh, Miss AnneConservativeThirsk and Malton
McVey, rh EstherConservativeWirral West
Metcalfe, StephenConservativeSouth Basildon and East Thurrock
Mills, NigelConservativeGuildford
Morris, DavidConservativeMorecambe and Lunesdale
Mosley, StephenConservativeCity of Chester
Murray, SheryllConservativeSouth East Cornwall
Neill, RobertConservativeBromley and Chislehurst
Nuttall, Mr DavidConservativeBury North
Ottaway, rh Sir RichardConservativeCroydon South
Paice, rh Sir JamesConservativeSouth East Cambridgeshire
Parish, NeilConservativeTiverton and Honiton
Pawsey, MarkConservativeRugby
Percy, AndrewConservativeBrigg and Goole
Pincher, ChristopherConservativeTamworth
Prisk, Mr MarkConservativeHertford and Stortford
Redwood, rh Mr JohnConservativeWokingham
Rees-Mogg, JacobConservativeNorth East Somerset
Robathan, rh Mr AndrewConservativeSouth Leicestershire
Rosindell, AndrewConservativeRomford
Skidmore, ChrisConservativeKingswood
Spencer, Mr MarkConservativeSherwood
Stevenson, JohnConservativeCarlisle
Stewart, BobConservativeBeckenham
Stewart, IainConservativeMilton Keynes South
Sturdy, JulianConservativeYork Outer
Syms, Mr RobertConservativePoole
Truss, rh ElizabethConservativeSouth West Norfolk
Tyrie, Mr AndrewConservativeChichester
Uppal, PaulConservativeWolverhampton South West
Walker, Mr CharlesConservativeBroxbourne
Wallace, Mr BenConservativeWyre and Preston North
Watkinson, Dame AngelaConservativeHornchurch and Upminster
Wheeler, HeatherConservativeSouth Derbyshire
Whittaker, CraigConservativeCalder Valley
Whittingdale, Mr JohnConservativeMaldon
Wiggin, BillConservativeNorth Herefordshire
Paisley, IanDemocratic UnionistNorth Antrim
Wilson, SammyDemocratic UnionistEast Antrim
Hepburn, Mr StephenLabourJarrow
Meale, Sir AlanLabourMansfield
Sutcliffe, Mr GerryLabourBradford South
Browne, Mr JeremyLiberal DemocratTaunton Deane
Hughes, rh SimonLiberal DemocratBermondsey and Old Southwark
Carswell, DouglasUKIPClacton
Reckless, MarkUKIPRochester and Strood